Saturday, April 26, 2008

The Five Tenets of Islam

In the religion of Islam there are five tenets, each of which are to be followed by the individuals who partake in Islam. These individuals are called Muslims. The five tenets, or duties, within Islamic religion have been dubbed The Five Pillars of Islam. These duties are to be carried out by the Muslims and are absolutely necessary to be acknowledged as a member of Islamic religion. Although the concept of Five Pillars is necessary, the split of Islam has resulted in differing beliefs. The Five Pillars remains central in all sects of Islam, however each sect has
made its own alteration. I will be discussing only the five main tenets.

The First Pillar is Shahada, and is the most important of all the pillars. This pillar states that "There is no true God except Allah and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah." This is the acknowledgement that Allah is the one and only true God, and who is worthy of worship, and who is able to do whatever he pleases. Having this as the central tenet of Islam, all other religions are regarded as false to Muslims.

The Second Pillar is Salat/Salah (prayer). This pillar is the obligation for a Muslim to pray five times a day, or specifically, at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset and night fall. When an individual is praying it is required that they face in the direction of the Kaabah in Mecca. Specific requirements are included in this tenet, however, lenience is given as situations often obstruct the ability to perform the five acts of prayer precisely.

The Third Pillar is Zakah. This is the obligation for a Muslim to give alms, or to give as an act of charity.

1 comment:

Still Thinking said...

The rest of 3? 4 and 5?